Sunday star read

Share this page

Sharing...

Sunday star read

Bullet train by Kotaro Isaka

Satoshi looks like an innocent schoolboy but he is really a viciously cunning psychopath. Kimura's young son is in a coma thanks to him, and Kimura has tracked him onto the bullet train heading from Tokyo to Morioka to exact his revenge. But Kimura soon discovers that they are not the only dangerous passengers onboard.

Nanao, the self-proclaimed 'unluckiest assassin in the world', and the deadly partnership of Tangerine and Lemon are also travelling to Morioka. A suitcase full of money leads others to show their hands. Why are they all on the same train, and who will get off alive at the last station?

"Dark humour and addictive characters in a clever twisty 200mph ride! Did you catch the movie when it was at the St James Theatre? There are a few differences between book and movie that I think made the movie work well...what did you think?"--PJ (04-09-2022)

Humans by Brandon Stanton

After five years of traveling the globe, the creator of 'Humans of New York' brings people from all parts of the world into a conversation with readers. He ignores borders, chronicles lives and shows us the faces of the world as he saw them. His travels took him from London, Paris and Rome to Iraq, Dubai, Ukraine, Pakistan, Jordan, Uganda, Vietnam, Israel and every other place in between. His chronicling of peoples’ lives shows the experience of a writer who has travelled widely and thought deeply about the state of our world.

(07-08-2022)

The science of living by Stuart Farrimond

Explore the science behind your daily living habits and make your day healthier, happier, and more productive. Bringing to bear the latest research in psychology, nutrition, biology, and physics, best-selling author Dr Stuart Farrimond unearths the facts behind the fads, and provides take-away advice on every area of our lives - and all delivered in Dr Stu's trademark style; approachable, authoritative, and above all, entertaining.

The Science of Living debunks pseudo-science and delivers only the facts. One day - one body - over 200 examples of science in action.

"This book is fascinating! I found myself sitting just reading it for long periods at a time, learning interesting new information on things I thought I'd already learnt about..."--PJ (03-07-2022)

In the Company of Gardeners by Juliet Nicholas & Sue Allison

Magnificent gardens, stunningly photographed, from around New Zealand, with informative and entertaining text that creates a thoughtful commentary on New Zealand gardening in the twenty-first century. Photographed by top garden photographer Juliet Nicholas, this book is a visual feast...but much more too.

"Gardens from the far north to right here in Southland, beautifully photographed and presented. An amazing read!" -- Library staff (22-05-2022)

Remember me by Charity Norman
"A 5 star read that had me gripped from the start!"--Julie

They never found Leah Parata. Not a boot, not a backpack, not a turquoise beanie. After she left me that day, she vanished off the face of the earth.
A close-knit community is ripped apart by disturbing revelations that cast new light on a young woman's disappearance twenty-five years ago.
After years of living overseas, Emily Kirkland returns to New Zealand to care for her father, Felix, who suffers from dementia. As his memory fades and his guard slips, she begins to understand him for the first time - and to glimpse shattering truths about his past. Truths she'd rather were kept buried.
A heartfelt, page-turning suspense novel from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Strangers - ideal reading-group fiction, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty.

(15/05/2022)

A million things by Emily Spurr

For as long as Rae can remember, it’s been her and Mum, and their dog, Splinter. Sometimes Mum disappears for a while to clear her head but Rae is okay with this, because Mum always comes back.

So, when Rae wakes to no Mum, she does as she’s always done and carries on. That is, until her grumpy, lonely neighbor Lettie falls one night and needs Rae’s help.

As the two begin to rely on each other, Rae’s wonders what will happen to her when her mother’s absence is finally noticed and her fragile world bursts open.

"An amazing read...5 stars!" - Dena

The Banksia House breakout by James Roxburgh

When Ruth Morris is moved into Banksia House by her workaholic son Michael, she is eighty-one years young, mourning her loss of independence, and missing her best friend Gladys terribly.
So when she learns Gladys is dying a state over in Brisbane, Ruth is determined to say goodbye. Enlisting the help of her fellow residents, Ruth makes a daring departure from Banksia House alongside renowned escape-artist Keith, and her formidable new friend Beryl.

“A mischievous adventure that had me laughing out loud. A 5 star read!”

Review by Julie (21-01-2022)

Chasing the boogeyman by Richard Chizmar

This novel is a fictional account of brutal killings that took place in the author's hometown of Edgewood during the late 1980s. Several teenage girls went missing only to turn up mutilated and posed. Before long, the town is in a frenzy of fear and suspicion. While the police work feverishly to catch the serial killer, Richard Chizmar is drawn to the case, eventually writing a firsthand account which is this book.

And I have to say, the author wrote himself into a story that I was completely drawn to this as if it were fact, it was very believable complete with photographs of the 'victims' and 'police'. Brilliantly executed!

Review by Penelope (13-01-2022)