Spotlight on...

Share this page

Sharing...

Spotlight on...

Remember me by Charity Norman
"A 5 star read that had me gripped from the start!"--Julie

They never found Leah Parata. Not a boot, not a backpack, not a turquoise beanie. After she left me that day, she vanished off the face of the earth.
A close-knit community is ripped apart by disturbing revelations that cast new light on a young woman's disappearance twenty-five years ago.
After years of living overseas, Emily Kirkland returns to New Zealand to care for her father, Felix, who suffers from dementia. As his memory fades and his guard slips, she begins to understand him for the first time - and to glimpse shattering truths about his past. Truths she'd rather were kept buried.
A heartfelt, page-turning suspense novel from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Strangers - ideal reading-group fiction, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty.

(15/05/2022)

A million things by Emily Spurr

For as long as Rae can remember, it’s been her and Mum, and their dog, Splinter. Sometimes Mum disappears for a while to clear her head but Rae is okay with this, because Mum always comes back.

So, when Rae wakes to no Mum, she does as she’s always done and carries on. That is, until her grumpy, lonely neighbor Lettie falls one night and needs Rae’s help.

As the two begin to rely on each other, Rae’s wonders what will happen to her when her mother’s absence is finally noticed and her fragile world bursts open.

"An amazing read...5 stars!" - Dena

The Banksia House breakout by James Roxburgh

When Ruth Morris is moved into Banksia House by her workaholic son Michael, she is eighty-one years young, mourning her loss of independence, and missing her best friend Gladys terribly.
So when she learns Gladys is dying a state over in Brisbane, Ruth is determined to say goodbye. Enlisting the help of her fellow residents, Ruth makes a daring departure from Banksia House alongside renowned escape-artist Keith, and her formidable new friend Beryl.

“A mischievous adventure that had me laughing out loud. A 5 star read!”

Review by Julie (21-01-2022)

Chasing the boogeyman by Richard Chizmar

This novel is a fictional account of brutal killings that took place in the author's hometown of Edgewood during the late 1980s. Several teenage girls went missing only to turn up mutilated and posed. Before long, the town is in a frenzy of fear and suspicion. While the police work feverishly to catch the serial killer, Richard Chizmar is drawn to the case, eventually writing a firsthand account which is this book.

And I have to say, the author wrote himself into a story that I was completely drawn to this as if it were fact, it was very believable complete with photographs of the 'victims' and 'police'. Brilliantly executed!

Review by Penelope (13-01-2022)

Oh William! by Elizabeth Strout

A masterful exploration of human empathy, Oh William! captures the joy and pain of watching children grow up and start families of their own; of discovering family secrets, late in life, that rearrange everything we think we know about those closest to us; and the way people live and love, despite the variety of obstacles we face in doing so.
And at the heart of this story is the unforgettable, indomitable voice of Lucy Barton, who once again offers a profound, lasting reflection on the very nature of existence. This is the way of life, Lucy says. The many things we do not know until it is too late.
(15-11-21)

The happiest man on earth by Eddie Jaku

A staff recommended gem for you!

Eddie Jaku always considered himself a German first, a Jew second. He was proud of his country. But all of that changed in November 1938, when he was beaten, arrested and taken to a concentration camp.

Over the next seven years, Eddie faced unimaginable horrors every day, first in Buchenwald, then in Auschwitz, then on a Nazi death march. He lost family, friends, his country.

Because he survived, Eddie made the vow to smile every day. He pays tribute to those who were lost by telling his story, sharing his wisdom and living his best possible life. Published as Eddie turned 100, this is a powerful, heartbreaking and ultimately hopeful memoir of how happiness can be found even in the darkest of times.

Eddie passed away 12 October 2021 age 101.
(08-11-21)